Projects are a way of organising your content. When you are managing more than one customer or section use projects to split your work into different units. Using projects is also an essential part of sharing the same content over several managers. Each project has its own settings.

Local

There is always a default, local project on your manager.
It has the DISEContent folder structure as its base, but you may add content from anywhere on your manager.
We do however recommend you to keep as much content as possible in the DISEContent\Content folder, as it has these advantages:

  1. It makes it easier to backup or migrate content to another manager.
  2. It provides quick access to your content via the Content tab in Composer.


Creating a local project from scratch


Go to File > Options > Run project wizard.


The New Project wizard dialog appears.

On the first page, give a name to identify the project.

On the next page, select "Local project".



Select where to create the new project (which new DISEContent structure to create).

Then click Apply to create the project.

Shared project

To create a shared project, a content repository is required on the network.

Creating a shared project from scratch


Go to File > Options > Run project wizard.
On the first page, give a name to identify the project.


On the next page, select "Shared project".

Here, enter the URL to connect to the content repository.

This page appears only in DISE Composer. Select the local workspace folder for the project, for instance "C:\SharedDISEContent".
The folder should be empty.

Click Apply to complete the wizard and save the project to the repository.


The project is now downloaded locally to the workspace folder.
You will notice if you look in the project folder that DISE has created, a standalone DISEContent folder structure. You can see which project you are working with in the left bottom hand corner.

CurrentProject.png

Checking out a project


Go to File > Options > Run project wizard.

Click Download existing project.



Enter the URL to the content server.



Select from the list of existing projects.
Select the local workspace folder for the project.


Selecting a project

You can switch between projects by selecting a project in the dropdown-list File > Options > Current in Composer. The available projects will be presented.


Properties

General tab


  • Name
    The name of the project. Will be shown in the dropdown list.
  • Content directories
    Each project has its own DISEContent directory, specified during project creation.
  • Encrypt project settings
    Secures the project by encrypting the content of the settings files.
  • Create backup of project files on application close
    Will create an archive with the project settings when the program exits.
  • Check for updates on application startup
    When content sharing is used, will checkout new and updated content from the content server when the application starts.
  • Delete
    Deletes the project file and any references to it. Will not delete any content associated with the project.


DISE Server tab

ProjectPropertiesServer.png

In this tab, fill in the connection details to upload content to Cloud.

  • Connect to DISE Server
    If checked, will ask the user for credentials to log in to Cloud.
  • Server address / port
    The IP address/host name and port to connect to.


Where are settings stored?


Settings files for projects are saved in the "DISEContent\System\Projects" folder. The Default project can be found in "C:\DISEContent\System\Projects", and if you create a new local or shared project it will be found in its DISEContent structure (for example, "D:\MySharedContent\System\Projects"). Each file will have a unique ID, such as "0682E980-926E-440F-B858-531C51107DB2.diseproject". The default project is named "00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000.diseproject". The project itself is stored as a ".diseproject" file and a ".diseproject.local" file. The .diseproject.local file contains information that is specific for this manager. This is applicable when sharing content - some paths and settings will differ between managers. The project contains a list of destinations, which are themselves stored as separate files.


Renaming, deleting or moving a project

In the General tab in the Project properties, you may enter a new name in the Name field. You can also click the Browse icon to select a new location for the project files. Please note that this will only move the project files, not content files - these have to be moved manually. Similarly, deleting a project will not delete any content associated with the project. To delete the project, click the Delete button at the bottom in the Project properties.

Note: Moving a shared project will not automatically check out the content from the content server.